The first thing I needed to do to in order to start producing my webzine, was add a theme. There are multiple themes installed into wordpress already, so you can look through and choose one of those, or you can choose your own and install it yourself. I installed a theme called genie which I installed onto my computer, so to do this I went to the theme section, add new, upload new and found the zip file I had previously downloaded and selected it.

uploadgenie-themegenie

Once the theme was installed, it was blank and just the general theme, but there were multiple things that I could do in order to make it a little different.

The first thing I did was create a temporary logo. The logo would only be temporary as im not completely sure as to what I want mine to be like yet. To create this logo I went to a website called canva, where you can select and customize designs.

logo-made

After I found this site, I began to create my logo.

logo

In order to add my logo to my webzine, I had to go to appearance- customize- general settings. This straight away came up with the favicon and logo options, where I just had to upload my logo.

The next thing I wanted to do was add a sidebar, so that users could find recent posts, archives and categories. All I had to do for this was click on the drop down box and select which side I wanted it on.

After looking at this, I decided to change the colour scheme as I didn’t like the colours that the theme itself automatically came with. To do this I just went to Accent colour, pressed select colour and played around with ones until I found one I liked. Eventually I decided on using a bluish colour so that it would blend well with my logo.

Looking at the fonts, I didn’t really like them because they seemed to bold and out there, and i wanted something more soft. After testing out different fonts, I chose the following.

screenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-39-13-pm

Adding categories

When it came to my content, I had to make sure that I had a category to place them all under. To create my categories I went to my dashboard, categories and add new. I then added two categories called ‘issue 1’ and ‘issue 2’ and then uploaded my content into those two different categories. 

screenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-40-48-pmscreenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-40-57-pm

Grid theme

In order to make sure that my content is uploaded into what issue they go with, I wanted a grid theme to represent the issues more. To do this I had to make a new page and go to settings at the bottom page where I chose the ‘grid’ theme. Once I had done this I then had to go to the dashboard, reading and set the grid theme page as my static page. 

screenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-30-09-pmscreenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-31-04-pmscreenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-32-30-pm

 

 

 

 

 

This meant the posts uploaded like this screenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-49-45-pm

Uploading my own content

In order to upload my own content, I had to to go to add new post. Once I had clicked this, a page comes up where I write up my title and the rest of my content. Once the content was written and I was happy with it, I had to sort it into the correct category.

Because the webzine typically has scheduled content, I had to schedule each post for a certain date and time that I wanted it to go up. To do this, Instead of just clicking publish, I went to where it says “publish immediately” in the top right hand corner, and pressed the edit option where I then chose the date and time. 

screenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-26-00-pmscreenshot-2017-02-28-at-9-26-02-pm

 

