Interview skills:

  • Know things about the company/ job/ university/ college/
  • Answer in full, don’t leave things out
  • Always relate to yourself
  • Do research before the Interview
  • Make a list of questions they could ask you and answer them for practice
  • Make sure you arrive on time, look presentable and engage with the interviewer
  • Keep in contact. Send emails with questions, thank you email after the interview
  • Be enthusiastic, make them know how much you want it. Not too overboard that you tell them your plans before getting the job
  • At the end of an interview, ask questions. If you don’t have any make it clear that the person has already covered everything and you feel confident that you know everything you need to know
  • For practice, ask somebody to ask you questions that the interviewer may ask so you can get an answer in mind
  • Be confident, don’t take too many breaks, it may make it seem like you don’t know what you’re doing or what to say
  • Read over C.V, Personal statement etc
  • Bring portfolio of your work. Example of your best work.
  • Be well rested
  • Don’t be afraid to sell yourself
  • research culture

Heres a list of questions to ask your interviewer taken from Monster.co.uk 

  • Why has the position become available?
  • What are the main objectives and responsibilities of the position?
  • How does the company expect these objectives to be met?
  • What are the measures used to judge how successful I am in the role?
  • What obstacles are commonly encountered in reaching these objectives?
  • What is the desired time frame for reaching the objectives?
  • What can I expect from you in terms of development and support?
  • What aspirations do you have for me at the company?
  • Where will the job fit into the team structure?

What’s the best thing about working at your company?

  • What is the main thing the organisation expects from its employees?
  • How do you build good relationships within teams?
  • What is the turnover of staff like throughout the company?
  • Are there any plans for expansion?
  • How would you describe the company culture and management style?

Different interview formats

  • Q&a One to one or in front of a panel
  • Group interviews
  • Roleplay
  • Video (no direct contact)
  • Produce an artifact

My Mock interview

Feedback

The job that I applied for was a publicity manager. When I was first told about the interview, I instantly panicked as it isn’t something I’ve done before and what a lot of my anxiety is surrounded by, but by the end of it I found that it really helped. Just before the interview, I was nervous but quite calm as i’d had a lot of time to prepare and after seeing multiple people go in before me, it helped to calm any anxious thoughts I had, which I need to keep an eye out for in the future as it isn’t likely that I will have other peoples experiences to go on.

In preparation for my interview, I did many things. The thing I did was research the company, so I knew what I would be applying for exactly and facts about the family run company. The next thing I did was research the common questions that would be asked an interviewee. This was an important part of my preparation because it meant that when it came to the actual interview, I would have some idea and what to expect and not be completely lost. After finding some common questions, I wrote them down and wrote down some answers. Again, this helped as I wouldn’t be going into the interview with no idea what to say and saying the answers out loud to myself helped to store them if I needed. I also created a digital portfolio where all my work that I have done so far would be shown.

When it came to the actual interview, I had to think about a lot of things. The main thing I thought about a lot was how I presented myself. I made sure that I was dressed appropriately, had a positive and enthusiastic attitude as well as making sure that I remained professional and confident. I made sure that o greeted the interviewer politely by introducing myself and shaking their hand. I then sat and answered any questions the best that I could.

When the interview came to an end, It was my turn to ask the questions. I asked about the salary due to the fact that ‘I would be moving to London’ and I knew that it would be expensive to live there. I also asked about what the interviewer would think what I would gain from working for them and I also asked about the support given to their employees.

After I was done asking the questions, the interview was really over and I was given some feedback. The main thing that was said was to always make sure that I had a physical paper version of my portfolio as well as digital, this because when I went to the room where the interview was held, there was no computer for me to bring up my portfolio. When I was answering some questions, I gave examples of my work but had nothing to show, so that was a negative. Another thing I was advised to do was rearrange my CV in order of what the job ad focuses on the most. Like if they were big on the experience, put that towards the top, if they were big on the skills needed, put that towards the top. This is because companies receive so many CV’s that the first batch they can only really skim the CVs and then when they have a select amount of people, they read them more in depth and start to decide who they want for an interview. I was also told to mention the amount of followers I have on social media. Aside from those things, I was told that I came across very professional, confident and gave good examples of experience and work that I have done previously.

I feel that the interview went really well and it has helped me feel better towards the idea of having an interview in the future, as I now know what to expect and how to prepare for one. Writing our new CV’s and cover letters has also helped, as i’ve learnt how to tailor my job applications to whatever job I apply for.

After the interview I made the following changes to my CV. I made sure I included logos of all of the social media I am active on and moved my work experience to the top of the page.

cv

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 10.00.50.png

bibliography:

http://www.skillsyouneed.com/ips/interview-skills.html

http://www.monster.co.uk/career-advice/article/what-questions-should-i-ask-my-interviewer

http://www.monster.co.uk/career-advice/article/top-5-job-interview-tips

 

 

