Questions to answer:

Why are you applying for your chosen course(s)

Why does this subject interest you? Include evidence that you understand what’s required to study the course, e.g. if applying for psychology courses, show that you know how scientific the subject is.

 Why do you think you’re suitable for the course(s)? Do you have any particular skills and experience that will help you to succeed on the course(s)?

 

Do your current or previous studies relate to the course(s) that you have chosen? If so, how?

Have you taken part in any other activities that demonstrate your interest in the course(s)?

Universities like to know the skills you have that will help you on the course, or generally with life at university, such as any accredited or non-accredited achievements. Write these down here. Examples can be found at http://www.ucas.com/personalstatementskills.

Also think about any other achievements you’re proud of, positions of responsibility that you hold or have held both in and out of school, and attributes that make you interesting, special or unique.

Make a list of your hobbies, interests and social activities. Then think about how they demonstrate your personality, skills and abilities. Try to link them to the skills and experience required for your course(s).

Include details of jobs, placements, work experience or voluntary work, particularly if it’s relevant to your chosen course(s). Try to link any experience to skills or qualities related to the course.


Why do you want to do the subject? 

  • Want to do a job within Journalism
  • Always interested in writing
  • English literature- love for reading books and talking about them.

which skills/knowledge have you developed whilst on this course/ outside of college

  • Organisational skills
  • analysing skills
  • My communication skills have improved
  • Team work
  • Technology
  • problem solving skills
  • writing skills
  • Transferable skills

How do the skills and knowledge you have learnt link to the course/subject you are applying to do?

  • writing skills- good for writing if i were to do the creative writing course
  • communication skills help with the analystic skills
  • analysing skills- analyse a lot in English lit

How did you develop these skills? refer to experiences

  • Writing skills- through the course at college
  • communication skills- got better at college
  • Technology skills- course at college
  • problem solving skills- family, college

what are your personal qualities

  • Determined
  • Willing to get stuck in

what evidence can you supply

https://www.shu.ac.uk/study-here/find-a-course/ba-honours-english-literature-fulltime


I have a large interest in studying English literature at university, all my life I have loved reading and talking about the books I read. All throughout my education I have loved the English side of things. If I were to study this course, I would show passion and determination.

*Say something about publishing*

During my time at college, my analysing skills have developed a lot due to having to use them as part of my course, which will also help if I was to study English Literature.  Organisational skills are evident in my college work too as I have a blog where all my work is posted and in order for people to find it, it needs to be neat and organised.


Finished Personal Statement 

I have a key interest in studying English literature at university, all my life I have loved reading and discussing the books I have read. My passion is discovering new authors and re-reading classic novels, I enjoy the fact that whenever I read a book I discover something new. All throughout my education, I have loved English Literature. I feel that due to my love of books and the English language if I were to study on this course, I would show passion and determination.

My long-term career goal is to work in publishing. I believe that an English Literature degree will give me the knowledge and skills I require in order to achieve this. The diversity of a degree in this would also allow me to be flexible when approaching career choices allowing me to consider different roles within my chosen area. I also believe that if I were to study something that I genuinely enjoy and feel passionate about, I will feed this enthusiasm into my work and therefore do well in my studies.

As well as reading novels, I also have an interest in poetry. I enjoy reading and analysing the text. In an group setting, I thoroughly enjoy hearing others opinions and sharing my own as it shows that there are a wide variety of ways that a person can interpret a single piece of work. This is something that I continue to develop into other areas of my life and I find I am more open-minded and wish to hear others opinions in order to discover more.

I believe that I am a very friendly, kind and creative person. I have thoroughly enjoyed writing for my journalism course as it has enabled me to write articles on subjects of my own choosing and have the freedom to present this in the best context allowing me to put my own creative spin on it. During the course of my studies, my analysis skills have developed, for example, (reading an article) looking at the covers of magazines and analysing the message it was trying to convey before reading the article. Organisational skills are evident in my college work as I produce a blog where I display my work in order for others to see which means it needs to be neat and organized. My time management capabilities has been demonstrated by meeting all deadlines for projects throughout the year.

As part of my course, I have completed various aspects of work experience including writing copy for the Sheffield Star and reviewing performances during the summer for the migration matters festival at Theatre Delicatessen. I was also part of a press conference for the Sheffield Sharks basketball team. Taking part in these experiences has helped me to broaden my skills (passions, career) in several differing contexts.

Reading allows me to explore other worlds, see how other people live. It also allows me to learn about people, places and objects I may never see. I can go from the past to the present in the turn of a page and learn many things. Reading is an escape and an anchor in my life. This is the reason for my passion and the reason I believe I would make and excellent addition to the English Literature course at your university. Thank you for taking the time to read my application and I hope that you consider it, as I am very passionate about my education and English Literature as a whole.


http://careers.penguinrandomhouse.com/about-us/department-guide/http://jobs.thebookseller.com/job/book-publicist

 

