Research and planning

After being given the information that we were going to be creating a video around a minute long, I had to start researching different types of mobile journalism. In order to do this I watched quite a few different types of videos, some for YouTube and some from news websites. This helped with a few things. The first thing was putting videos into categories, ones that were meant to inform and others that were meant for entertainment purposes and if I wanted to make something to inform or to entertain. Another thing I noticed was the amount of work and effort that goes into videos like this. Professional mobile journalism videos have to think about things like lighting, angles and the script that they are going to follow, a lot of thinking goes into them. Another thing they have to think about is legal aspects such as media regulations, if they were to use somebody in their videos.  Although there are types of mobile journalism videos that don’t have much work, for example news video clips, those just happen because it is a sudden thing. I do think my research was effective because it made me think about what I needed to take into account when creating my video.

Once I had finished looking at different videos, I had come up with an idea for my own idea and the next step was to put it into a storyboard. Before jumping right into this I did more research, which can be found here. When doing this I was able to highlight what things make a good storyboard and what it helpful to include on the storyboard, because it will be something you keep looking back on when you are actually out filming. After the research, I created my own storyboard.  My storyboard included quick drawings of my ideal shots and some text underneath, explaining the shot and what I should film during it. This was very effective because like when I was out filming I kept referring back to it. During the production of making my video, I watched videos that were similar to mine in order to understand more of what I should think about when recording. If I was to do research again, I’d look more into audience profiles for the type of videos I was going to do.

The product

I believe my video is fit for purpose. It also follows basic video conventions, such as having music over the top, a voiceover, captions and a title at the start and finish. Having a title, captions and a voiceover meant that the audience were able to be informed throughout the video as well as entertained. The technical quality of my video definitely improved throughout the making. This is because at first I didn’t know how to use iMovie but then I got better at it as I went along. Adding the transitions was sometimes a problem due to the clips being too short, but I lengthened them and then it worked.  I also had a slight problem with the voiceover being too quiet so you couldn’t hear it over the music but I turned the voiceover volume up and the music volume down whilst it played then the music returned to a normal volume afterwards.

Feedback

I gathered feedback from people within my target audience and from what they said, my video was good quality. They picked up on the good lighting, saying it was really good which is a positive as I didn’t intentionally make it good, I just made the most of the good wether we were having on the day of filming. They also liked how the music suited the type of video that it was, it was also very relaxing which made the video an easy watch. Another thing they liked the amount of detail within the video, such as captions and titles and then the different variety of shots that showed different items of clothing.

My video:

 

 

