29/02/16

The first thing I did during this week was reflect on the past units. I had to do this in around 100 words and because of that I found it quite difficult as I had to talk about all the skills I have learned and how I will use those skills in my FMP, I found myself constantly wanting to elaborate and explain myself more. I will be able to add more to my project proposal as I go along, as I will have to explain how I’ve used the skills I’ve learnt throughout the first units and how they have helped me with my project proposal.

For our FMP we have to create a front page and four pages of a magazine. For this I decided that I wanted to make two articles, spread across two pages this splitting the four pages into two pages each article. When I was thinking about what I would like to do I thought if I do something that I actually have an interest in, I will enjoy what I’m doing and it will be a fun experience, therefore my work will be of a better quality. So then I thought about my interests, which are things like home décor, reading, fashion and beauty etc.

Once I thought about what I wanted to include in my work, I decided on home décor and something to do with books. There was one problem with this, books are not usually featured in magazines, its just not popular. Because of this I had to think of a way to include them. Since my magazine is a lifestyle magazine, I fond that they usually have advice sections so I decided I would do an advice section on “how to fit reading into a summer schedule” or “top 10 books you need to read”. The home décor section of my magazine would be a guide to a vintage home.

Throughout this week I also carried out research. Because I had successfully thought of ideas for my magazine, I then created three mood boards based around the topics of my articles in order to get more of an idea on what kind of images I would want to take and what kind of images other people take. The first moodboard that I created was for “vintage home décor” to find the images I just searched “vintage décor” in pinterest and browsed the images, pinning whatever caught my eye to a certain board. The next moodboard was for my book article, this included various things, like images that I could take or ideas to base my article around. When creating the moodboards, I also researched different magazine designs/layouts. So I thought to myself “if I create a moodboard including these things too, I will have more of an idea how to set out my magazine when it comes to it”. As a result of this I have a third moodboard dedicated to designs and layouts. When creating this, I found that I was more drawn to the simple, but professional looking and unique magazines.


01/03/16

After I had done all this, I had to carry out some audience research. For this, I decided to reach out to my followers on twitter so that I would get a variety of answers. I thought this was a good idea as it is the most popular form of social media, therefore meaning it would reach a large amount of people in a quick way. The only problem I faced when doing this was the wording, I couldn’t really use many words in my questions as there was a limit, other than that everything was fine. I left the polls open for voting for 24 hours, which was plenty amount of time and I received quite a few votes. The next day I collected all the results and analysed them in my research portfolio. I do think twitter was the best way to get feedback as a variety of people answered, but also people that were my target audience, as that is the type of people that follow me. It also gave me pointers on how to improve my moodboards and an insight of what people want more of.

The next thing I had to think about was how I was going to make my magazine look as good as I possibly good, because I was constantly thinking “how can I make my magazine look like the ones I found when I did my research?” so I took to Google again and searched various InDesign techniques. This being anything from how to get better fonts or how to make a professional looking magazine cover. I think these tutorials will help me a lot throughout the process as they will help me with skills that I do not already have.


07/03/16

During this week I carried on researching for my FMP. I carried out primary research, to do this I thought of 3 popular magazines and looked into the demographic and phychographic profiling. The three magazines I chose were Teen Vogue, Cosmopolitan and Ok! magazine. The first two magazines are quite similar but also differ in many ways and in terms of demographics, Ok! magazine is very different to the ones above, as well as genre. Doing this really helped, as it showed me that something you might not think would change the target audience, does. Things like the design and the way you type up your work and little details like the shaping of letters and colours really have an impact on the target audience of a magazine. Once I had gathered information on the target audiences, I then looked at the covers of these magazines, analysing the codes and conventions of that genre of magazine and compared them to each other. Doing this research was really successful as it helped me keep note on what I could do in my work to improve it and how to design my magazine so it tailors to what the target audience wants and needs.


08/03/16

After my primary research I moved onto secondary research. During this research I looked more into genre in general and then the genre of my magazine. For this, I again talked about the codes and conventions of a lifestyle magazine, but in more detail. I explained things about magazines, such as why the main image on the front cover is what it is and why the font of the magazine identifies with that magazine. I also talked about the content that you would find in a lifestyle magazine. I also talked about how I would want to layout one of my articles.


10/03/16

I also did more research on Target audiences. I gathered data from the National Readership survey on the magazines that I had previously done research on, so that the statistics from the NRS could back up my previous research. Using the NRS was very helpful as it showed how many copies of the magazines were sold each month and how many people bought physical copies or read the magazine online. It was also great for telling the target audience, and which band they were in etc. When looking at the data you are easily able to tell which magazines are aimed at a higher class and a lower class, this because the lower class magazine generally sell more than the upper class magazines. They also include content that more people can relate to and if they feature any products, they are cheaper and more affordable, like the price of the magazine itself, it is very affordable. This also helps when the magazines continue to produce, as the amount of people who read their magazine is high therefore the amount of people wanting to advertise their products in that magazine is also high. Also, because lower class magazines are usually more full with content rather than advertisements, there is more competition so companies will pay more to have their product advertised in that magazine. After carrying out this research, I know that I will provide content that is relatable and what people will want to read.


15/03/16

I then had to do research on the companies that published the magazines I had been researching, to find which would be most likely to publish my magazine. Once I had found out which company produced which magazine, I wrote down a small description of the company and some history.


04/o4/16

At the start of the FMP I had wrote my project rationale and left the rest of the project proposal, this because I had to complete research before I could write about my project concept and evaluation.

For my Project concept I wrote a brief summary of what I am going to be doing for my magazine front cover and two features. I gave a description on what each feature will focus on more, for example photography, font or the general content.

For my Evaluation, I talked about the decision making process and how I will log it.

I found it quite hard to complete this task as there was a word count, and I found myself wanting to write more than I needed to.


05/04/16

I decided to carry on my research, looking more into photography than anything. To do this I didn’t want to use resources that I had already used, I wanted to use something different so I went to the library and looked for some books on vintage home décor. After I had found the books I needed, I spent a long time looking through them, gathering inspiration for the images that I would take. Doing this really helped because I thought “If I have more knowledge on what images people take amongst this genre, that knowledge will come into play when I take my images”

Once I had finished looking at the images, I noticed how amazing the lighting was and then I began to worry about whether or not I’d be able to achieve images of good quality, due to the lighting. I had already had worries, as I would be taking the images inside a home, not on a set so I had to find a way to make it work. So to solve this, I thought about the photography aspect of the skills I have developed and thought about the aperture and depth of field, and this seemed to help my case.

I will need to do more research on this though, as I still have very little idea on how to go about writing for the feature and which angle to go from, so I will be buying some lifestyle and home décor magazines to get inspiration.


12/04/16

The next thing I did was design the way I wanted my magazine features and front cover to look. The first thing I did to start off this process, was more research. I was given the information that my magazine would be a5, so I researched about that to see if it would change any of the codes or conventions. When I was doing the research, I noticed that almost every feature I looked at, had one image that filled the whole page, and I realised I don’t want to do that for my magazine features. I wanted to somehow make my features look different, but in a way that people would still recognise as a magazine feature. For my vintage home decor feature, I wanted to place the images in a collage type of way. I will be doing this, but I will have to make sure that I keep in mind the codes and conventions of a magazine feature whilst doing so.

The main things I had to think about whilst doing the planning was the columns, fonts, headlines, image placement, text breaks and colour.


15/04/16

As part of my planning I had to do some tester shoots for the images I wanted to take and use in my magazine. The first thing I did was go to norfolk park, to take images for my book feature. I changed my mind a few times throughout the shooting day as I came up with more and more ideas. The original image I wanted was a simple one of the model sat underneath a tree reading, but once I had that image, I wanted to try out more. The second one I took was one with the model in front of a tree smiling with the book in hand. I was quite happy with both of these images, but I thought of another idea that may be worth trying. I wanted to take an image of the model and a book in the studio. This because of the white background, it would allow me to experiment with the design of the feature a lot more than I could if I was to use the previous two images, so I will hopefully be trying that out and then I will decide which image to use later on. The only thing that proved a problem on this day was the weather, there was a lot of rain when we went out to shoot, but still enough light so that the images still turned out good enough for a test shoot.


16/04/16

When taking the images for the vintage article, I experienced some difficulties with the quality of the images, due to the fact that I was using my phone and not a proper camera, but I kept in mind that it was just a tester shoot and on the actual day of shooting I will have a DSLR camera to work with. I also had problems with the sun glaring in from the windows, but I put that down to the time of day as I was shooting around 5pm. Because of this I made a mental note to do the shoot around mid day, so the sun would be less of a problem. Aside from these problems, the shoot went well and I got a real feel for what Images I want to take and what of.


19/04/16

When taking my test images, I realised that I didn’t really have too much of an idea of what I wanted to do, so I thought creating a storyboard would really help. Having this storyboard will really help me on the day as I will be able to look back on it so that I know where to go with the images and remember to take all the ones that I need.

I also started to write my copy draft.


21/04/16

Today I gathered up all of my test shots and showed them to my photography teacher. This was really helpful as I had some concerns with the images I had taken and was therefore able to share those concerns. The first thing I was helped with was the darkness of my image. I was shown how to lighten them up in Photoshop and how to work all the different different ways of doing so. I then talked about the images I had taken and was given advice on how to make them better and improve the quality of them. I was also given tips on my possible front cover image, I was told to think about the different


25/04/16

Today I did a presentation on my action plan for the FMP. For this I pitched my ideas to a small group of people. The pitch consisted of my two feature ideas and then the design ideas, including my front cover. I also shared some of the audience feedback I had already got and explained why I did and asked the things that I did.

I was really nervous about presenting this especially due to the fact that there would be people focusing on me and there would be a camera recording, so I was scared just in case I messed up. However, the fact that we did it in smaller groups made me more comfortable and in the end I was very glad I did it as I got some good feedback. 

When gathering the feedback, I wrote it in note form on


26/04/16

For my vintage article, I had to do an interview so that is what I did today. This was very helpful as I am now able to complete writing up my draft copy as it relies heavily on what the interviewee says.


3/05/16 

When I showed my draft copy to my teacher, I got a lot of helpful feedback. My approach to writing the vintage home decor article was good, but I needed to add more feelings to it. This would help to encourage the readers and make them feel more involved. I had to include my opinions as well as the persons I interviewed, so that I weren’t making comments without backing them up without information.


5/05/16

Because It was time to start putting our designs onto Indesign, I started to make my design and play around with different fonts etc. When doing this, I was restricted as to what I could do on Indesign as I did not yet have any of my final images, I had only done the test shots. To work around this I just made templates on indesign and worked with that. If I wanted to see how one of the images I plan on using would look against a font or colour etc, I just inserted the test Image and worked with it that way.  To show where Images would be a made coloured boxes and put them in place so that I would just be able to place the actual image in them once I had them. I also used lurem ipsum text in the places that my copy would go so that it was clear and I wouldn’t put anything where there was already something needed to be.

Using Templates really seemed to help as I know now that I won’t be worrying as much as I was about the design element as I now have a clear understanding of what I’m doing and what is going where, Its just a case of putting all the text and images in their rightful place.

I also took the images for my book article today, I worked in the studio using DSLR camera. Working in the studio was really helpful for the Idea I had in mind, I really wanted to take an image with a clear, pure white background and that would be possible in a studio. It was also a lot easier due to the fact that once I had all the setup including lighting, model, the correct aperture and shutter speed all I had to do was work with the angles of the Image and the different poses for the model.


7/05/16

Today I went to take the final images for my Vintage home decor article.


9/05/16

Today I had to work on removing the background of one of my images. The main reason I was doing this was to insert it onto the page without background so that all of the main background would be the same colour. This image was for my book article, where the model is stood reading a book. I really wanted to insert the image so it looks as though the model stands out from the background, but when I inserted the image with the normal studio background, it didn’t work properly as there were shadows and I also could not find a background colour to match the one of the studio background.

When I was removing the background, I tried to use the magic wand tool in photoshop so that the background would be removed in one, but if I was to do that it would take away more of the image than I wanted, as the colours were very similar and the foreground colour wasn’t really bold in some places. To carry on with the removing the background Idea, I just went in with the background eraser tool and just removed the background myself.

I faced a few problems when doing this because whenever I thought I had got rid of most of the background, bits would still show up when I inserted onto my page on InDesign. To solve this I just went back onto photoshop and zoomed the page in so that I could find the odd bits and get rid of them.


10/05/16

When getting feedback on my images, I was told that it may be good Idea to make a contact sheet containing all of the images I had taken. So, taking this into consideration I started researching how to make a contact sheet and then I made one. I think this is a really good way of showing all of the images I had taken, so that the good and bad can be seen and so that not only the ones that are used in my magazine are the ones that are shown.


12/05/16

Because some of my images were dark, I had to get feedback from my photography teacher. This was helpful as she showed me how to lighten the images. I was concerned about one image in particular and when I talked to her about it, she said that it actually gave off a vintage vibe type image, so it wouldn’t look bad with the articular lighting and parts that were darker than others.

When thinking about my front cover, I didn’t really like the front cover that I already had previously panned, so I again, had a talk about it with my teacher and she helped me think of a different alternative.


16/05/16

The first thing I did today was change the masthead on in front cover of my magazine. I didn’t really like my original masthead as I thought it looked boring and quite unprofessional. To solve this I ended up using the college magazine logo.

The next thing I did was add to my writing, I had received some feedback so I had to find a way to interoperate that into my work. The first think I did was write more of my vintage article, because I needed to add more of a description on the interviewee, so that’s what I did.

When looking at my book article, it looked very plain and couldn’t help be really dislike it, so I started thinking of ways that I could improve it. When asking my audience, they advised that it may be a good Idea to add a background, so I took that into consideration when re-designing the page. The first thing I did was write out my title, and then worked with the different fonts. When looking through the fonts already on the computer, nothing caught my eye so I decided to look further on dafont.com where I eventually found a few vintage looking fonts, so I installed them and tested them all out for the title. I eventually decided on a ‘vintage.ce’ font because it gave off the exact vibe that I wanted, and it itself looked old and worn down, but in a pretty way. After that I started thinking about backgrounds. The first thing that came to mind was a brick wall, but I didn’t want a normal one, because that would just make the font and the images look like graffiti on a wall, so I searched for a white brick wall and used that. This added to the vintage effect and also went really well with the colour of the title, but I didn’t like it as a full background, so I just made it as a background for my title text. After looking at the text for a while, I noticed that the font looked a bit flat to the page, so I added an outline to it and then asked my focus ground if it looked better with the outline or without and they said with, so I kept the outline.

As it is a convention for magazines to have the page numbers on the page and the name of the magazine in small print somewhere on the page, I added numbers and ‘vook’ to the pages of my work.

Next I worked some more on my book article. I really wanted to see how the text boxes would look with text in them, so I added lurem Ipsum text. The first thing I noticed was how blocky it looked, so I made a note to work on that when I insert my copy.


17/05/16

After thinking about it for a while, I started again with my vintage article, just because it didn’t look the way I wanted it to so I deleted everything off of the page and started again. The first thing I thought about was the images, I had two different selections of images and I did a focus group and made them choose between the two groups, this helped as I was quite undecided, as I liked both sets of images but there were only room for one set and It also helped to target my audience.

After I had chose the images, I had to see if any of them needed editing. Some of them did due to being a little dark, so I did that by opening in them in Photoshop. When I was lightening the images I noticed that the tool I was using added a kind of distressed look to my images, so I ended up editing them all, even if they didn’t need to be lightened as it added to the effect and made the images look more old and fitting with the vintage style.

In my vintage feature, there is one large image on the right page in the bottom right hand corner, this is the ‘main’ image as I talk about upcycling a lot in my article, and it is an example of the interviewees own upcycle. When I inserted this image, It looked good but I wanted to add more so I carried on with the brick wall effect and made it a border for the image, I really liked this as it just added something more to the image, but, as always I gathered some audience feedback, showing them before and afters and they also preferred the image with the boarder. I then started adding an outline to the rest of my images, just so they stood out a little more.

I also received some feedback regarding my front cover. This was to do with the book covering the models face, this would typically be associated with identity, and because none of my articles mentioned anything to do with identity, I decided it would be best to change the front cover to save any confusion. I changed it to one that was similar but just showed the models face and the book. I had some problems when I inserted this into Indesign. The main issue was that I couldn’t send the image to the back, so it just covered the magazine masthead logo. To solve this I opened the image in Photoshop and removed the background so it wouldn’t cover the masthead when Inserted it back into Indesign, now that I had sorted that issue, I found another one. The model was facing left, when she needed to be facing right so that she was facing where the magazine opened. To solve this I just flipped the Image and moved it to the far left, so that it looked better, as it didn’t when the model was directly in the middle. I also started adding coverlines to my front cover. For my vintage one I named it “Love vintage?” but made the ‘o’ in ‘love’ a love heart, to add creativity.


19/05/16 

The first thing I did today was finish off my vintage article, there wasn’t much to do as I already had the copy, images and the overall design in place, I just had to fill a few blank spaces. To do this I first added a ‘get the look’ section where I explained what the items in the images were and then were you can buy them, if they were bought or homemade. I then added a rounded text box and inserted text of a quote which was “simplicity is the ultimate sophistication” this because it gave the feel of how I was trying to describe the vintage style in my article. It is also quite inspirational and could inspire the reader to go ahead and transform their home. After I added these, the vintage article was completely finished.

When looking at my front cover with my focus group we realised that something was wrong with the front cover. When changing my front cover for third time, I had to flip the image so that the model was facing the right, towards where the magazine would open, but this caused a problem with the book cover that I didn’t realise until today. The book cover was flipped, so the writing was backwards and so was the image. This instantly worried me as the deadline is so close and I knew that I would have to re-do my whole front cover. The first thing I did was remove the image from the front cover and look for another one with help from my focus group. I eventually found one that I wouldn’t have to flip, because the model was facing forward and looking straight into the camera lense. The first thing I did, as always, was open the image in photoshop and crop it to a5 size. I then did the usual again and removed the background and Inserted it onto my Indesign front page. I then put my captions in again and arranged them around the model to make sure it didn’t look too plain anywhere.

I also finished my book article copy today, so that It was ready to be inserted into the text boxes on my book article page.


23/05/16

Today I finished my production and wrapped everything up that needed final touches. The first thing I did was insert my book article text and straighten that out. When I first inserted the text, I felt it looked too cramped and the text was too close to the edges of the text box, so I indented the text and moved it down a little. Once I did this I gathered audience feedback and they said it looked good but the colour of the font made it hard to read the text on the darker backgrounds, so I ended up changing it to white.


Evaluation

For our final major project we had to produce two double page spreads and a front cover to a magazine. We were given 12 weeks to complete this. We also had to carry out continuous research, keep up to date with what we did through our reflective journal and document the production process through taking screenshots and annotating them.

I kept quite close to my initial proposal as I was sure of what I wanted to do from the start. I knew that my magazine would be of the lifestyle genre. My first article would be on “vintage inspired home décor” and my other on some sort of bookish advice. I wanted to incorporate the topics of books into my work as it is something I enjoy so I came up with “how to fit reading into your summer schedule” My initial ideas stayed the same throughout, but the designs changed a little to make it look better. For example, I stated the images in my vintage article would be of a collage design, but it didn’t look good so I changed it. I also stated that I would use a professional camera for my images, which is partly true regarding my book article and the front cover, but not for my vintage article. Another thing I changed was the Idea for my front cover, I stated it would be a picture of a room but I ended up using an image of the model. If I were to change my initial proposal I would make sure to put more thought into my front cover and to think more about my writing, as I would probably keep the photography and font aspect the same.

I would say my planning was effective as it enabled me to meet the deadlines, along with making sure I knew what to follow. I feel like I managed my time quite well but the only thing I would of done to manage it better would have been to update my reflective journal and annotated designs daily as there were times where I’d have to update the writing aspect for a couple of days when I fell behind.

During my production, I did encounter problems with my photographs regarding the vintage article. I didn’t exactly plan out which ones I would take, I just had a vague idea of what items I would photograph, so when I went out to do the test photo-shoot, I was a bit lost for ideas. To solve this I made myself a storyboard that I would take with me on the day of the final shoot and that really helped me out. My research consisted of a variety of things and a variety of methods. These methods varied from the internet, questionnaires, library books and focus groups. The first thing I did was image research. Doing this really helped as I was able to create a mood board for each of the articles and then another for design. This was helpful during the production process as it gave me inspiration for my work. I also carried out an initial audience survey where I gathered some basic audience research, such as if they read magazines, how often and on what platform they read it. People also gave me feedback on my mood boards and article ideas through social media. Using twitter for my surveys was risky as it was anonymous and I therefore had no insight into whether the people who participated in the survey were dominantly female or male and what ages they were. If I were to do my research again, this would be something that I kept in mind and maybe carry out the survey on a different platform where the audience could fill out their gender and age.

I spent a lot of my time during my research doing secondary research on different magazines and the ways in which they appealed to their target audience. This was a helpful aspect as I was able to interpret that research into my work and appeal to my target audience in a way that the magazines I researched did too. I also analysed various magazine front covers, this was another helpful aspect as it gave me the right idea of what codes and conventions I would need to interpret into my work in order to follow the rules of a magazine. Another thing I used for my research was a library book. I used this for image inspiration, as I couldn’t find any books that would explain how I should go about taking the actual images, so I just looked at the images themselves and took things like their angles, lighting and overall image into account.

Half way through my production I used an image that was not my own and I realised that I would need to do some legal research, as I hadn’t done it previously. When doing this I realised that using the image would be ok as it is under educational circumstances and is unlikely to be published.

I also carried out questionnaires and focus groups throughout my production.  If I were to do my planning again I’d research more into InDesign and Photoshop techniques because as a result of little research on this, I got stuck a lot during my production and therefore had to Google how to do the little things I wanted to do.

Having my reflective journal was really helpful throughout my planning, research and production. This is because it provided me with a place to look back on all the work I had been doing and adapt on it, or pick up where I left off. It also helped for when I wanted to remember the feedback I had been given and act upon it.

I think my product is fit for purpose. It is made to inform and entertain and I think it does that, each article made to advise the audience on how to incorporate a vintage feel into their home and explain why it is so popular and to advise the audience on how to fit reading into a summer schedule. It also follows the codes and conventions of a lifestyle magazine. For example, all magazines have a masthead and the fact that I have used the college magazines masthead logo, will make sure that it is recognised by the audience. I also have my overall image shots and then close ups, which is a common convention of lifestyle magazines. As lifestyle magazines often have advice sections, I am following that convention with my “how to” book article. To make my magazine more fit for purpose, I could have included an overall image shot of the room used for the vintage article, to give the audience more insight, I could have also made more of a visual image of the room in my writing. Also judging from the feedback I received from my focus group, I would say the magazine fulfilled its purpose as they said that they would all pick it up and read it.

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 09.55.39

 

The things that worked well for this article would be the title font, the text boxes and the Image. For example, the font worked well as it gave off the effect that I wanted it to. I wanted the words “reading” and “summer schedule” to look like they were hand written. I felt like it did and when I got feedback, my focus group did too. I also think the text boxes worked well as it broke the text up evenly and made it clear that each point was separate. The image also worked well as it is clear that that is where I got the colour scheme came from. When gathering audience feedback, my audience said that the model was a nice touch to the image, but the fact that the model was dressed in monochrome made sure that most of the attention was drawn to the book, which is good as that is what the article is about.

If I were to improve this article I would probably include more content. For example, in my research and planning I said that I would like to include recommendations of books to read during summer, so I would probably add a section for that if I were to improve it.

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 09.55.57

The things that worked best in this article would be the title, images and the text spacing. I think the title worked really well as it itself looks vintage, and the white brick background adds to that. It also looks very interesting and is a big improvement from when I first started it. The images also look vintage, due to the effect that I put on them, they look old and a little worn down. When I worked with the text, I didn’t want it to look too blocky so I knew that I’d have to space it out somehow. To do this I made it go around the images, in a way that was still easy to follow/ read. Another thing that worked well was the list of items and where they were from, as it was conventional for a magazine. My focus group also said that it would be very helpful if they were to recreate some of the things from the images.

If I were to improve this article, I would probably include a whole room photo, so that the readers would have more insight to what is in the room and how the interviewee decorated her home.

During the production of my final pages, I did some research on how to remove the background to an image, I also researched how to brighten images. My audience research was also a part of my research for the final pages, as I used their feedback to help improve my pages throughout the process.

I feel as though I developed various technical skills during my production. Aside from being to overall manage InDesign without much thinking, I also acquired other skills. The skills that I learnt and probably used the most would be the background removing and lightening.  This was really helpful throughout as I had to change my front cover various times and it often included removing the background and lightening the images.

I think my product would appeal to its target audience as my focus group are my target audience and the feedback I got from them on the final product shows that it would appeal to them. When I was gathering the feedback, all of the people in my focus group said that they would read it and the topics are very interesting. They also said that if they were to see it in a shop that they would buy it. Having various photographs would help the audience to visualise what I am talking about in my copy and therefore make it more enjoyable and understandable for them. The pull quotes I used include things about the price which would also draw the audience in as I mention that it is ‘cheap’ and I feel my audience would be encouraged by that. The only aspect that my magazine may not appeal to would be the book article, as not as many people read, aside from it becoming more popular. This article would attract more of a niche audience.

I did a bit of audience research before my production, which can be found in my research portfolio. My audience survey helped to show me what the audience would like to see and what they like and dislike. This helped throughout the production process as I was able to look back on it and keep the feedback in mind.

I gathered my final audience feedback at the end of my research portfolio. Overall my audience feedback stated that it was fit for purpose and that if they saw it in a shop, they would buy it. They liked how it varied and how it included an article on books, as it isn’t usually seen in magazines. They also commented a lot on the overall theme of the pages and the colour schemes. For my book article, they liked how it focussed more on the text and the colour scheme was clearly inspired by the book cover that is held in the models hand. For the vintage article they mostly liked the layout and the feel that it had to it. They liked the images & fonts as they looked vintage themselves. When talking about the colour scheme, they said it was good how the colours were not bold and bright, but delicate and relaxing, which links to the feel of the article.

In conclusion I feel as though I did well in all aspects of my work, and I’ve been left with only a few things that I would change. If I were to do my research again, I’d want to research more into page layouts and how to make my designs more creative. This because I feel as though, although they are good and I’m proud of them, they are also a little basic. I would of wanted to come up with some more unique ideas. I feel as though my problem solving was good throughout as if something went wrong, I’d either ask around on how to fix it or I’d research on how to, and fix it. Communication throughout was consistent, as I’d be constantly asking my focus group for feedback on what works best.

PDF- FMP

 

