The first thing I had to do before making the magazine front cover and two page spreads, was plan the design and sketch them out. This would make it easier for me later on when I work on the magazine in InDesign.

The first thing I planned out was my front cover,  I had two ideas for this. The first sketch is one that would be fitting for an indoor image, and the second would be fitting for one outside. I thought about indoor and outdoor images as it would add a little difference to the images I use if the front cover was one took outside, as the images used for the a ctual main feature, would all be taken indoors.

As said before, the first sketch is the possible indoor front cover. It features the vintage picture frames and the vintage re-vamped trunk that I plan to take images of. The image will act as a background for all of the additional captions that will be scattered around the page. The captions will link to what is inside the magazine itself. I will also include things like a barcode and strap-lines and possible promotional material.

The next image would be taken outside, I will, if possible use the person I am interviewing for the related feature as a model. I would like to position the model sat next to a table that has a bunch of things on it, for example; a mug of tea, coasters, flowers and various other little things. I would then like for the model to have a book in hand, reading as I take the photograph. The model would also be wearing a vintage type dress to add to the feel of the image. The background of this image would just be grass and (hopefully) blue skies, but I would try to include flowers in it as much as I can.

To decide which image to go for, I will take them both and then ask for audience feedback as to which one I should use. This would either be through twitter, where I have been getting my feedback previously or from my class, or both depending on which I decide.

IMG_20160418_100054

 

For my vintage feature, I want to create a collage type thing. This would make the feature look very busy and hopefully appealing to look at. I want it to be something that readers would glance at and then want to read in more depth. I will take one main image, which will be the biggest on the page and then I will take the close up images and place them around the page, overlapping. I will feature the interview at the bottom half of the right page and then a large part of the writing at the side of the main image. I will try and include the prices and the names of the places where the items are from at the side of them.

IMG_20160418_100112

The final thing thing I needed to design was the double page spread feature on reading during summer time. For this I really wanted to have one page that focussed on the font, and a large portion of the actual feature as my other feature will be heavily photography based. So, going with this the first page is mostly taken up by the title. At first I thought this would be enough, but I wanted to add images in somewhere, so I thought about it and then found a model who would be willing to pose with a book and i’d incorporate that in my work somehow. When thinking about this design, I wanted to have one image, at the bottom of the model reading under s tree, but after thinking about it more, I wanted to take some images in the studio so that I can experiment with the designs more. I haven’t yet decided what colours I want to use for this feature yet, but they will reflect what the model is wearing or the colour of the title font.


Test Shots 

After I had an idea in my head of how I wanted the cover and features to look like, I went out and did some test shots.

For the front cover I got this shot.

IMG_20160416_184925

As much as I do like this shot, I found that it doesn’t exactly look the way I would have wanted. The lighting is off, which is something I really need to think about when I do my real shots. I also feel that the top of the page is too busy, so using the image acting as a background for the masthead and all the captions, would not look right. I would still like to test this out as a front cover though, as I do not know for sure how it will look, therefore testing it would be a smart idea so that I am able to make a decision through visuals instead of an assumption.

I then moved on to taking images for the actual vintage feature. My aim was to take as many overall shots as I could, and then take a few close ups so that I was able to show more details of the objects. I will place some of the examples below.

 

 

These two images are an example of when I struggled with lighting. As you can see, the first image is the lightest, meaning you can see the items in shot. Although you can see the items, the sun light bleaches them out. This probably has something to do with the white balance. The second image is better, as the sun is not glaring but it also means that the rest of the image is really dark. I will be able to solve this issue when I take the images using a DSLR, as I will be able to play around more with the shutter speed and aperture.

Aside from the main image not going quite as I planned, I still took close up shots of items that were in the overall shot.

After I had gotten the test shots for the vintage feature, I worked on taking some for the book feature, these are the shots that I got.

I really like these shots. I would like to use them, If the studio shot doesn’t work out. If the image I take when using the studio does work to and I end up using, I probably will still use one of these shots as I feel like they work really well with the feel of the feature.


Photo Planning- Storyboard

when I got to take my actual images, I want to make sure that I have a set plan to stick to, so that I dont forget to take any of the images or leave anything important out. To insure that I did this, I made a storyboard with the shots that I want to take.

IMG_20160419_111545

1- This is the first possible front cover shot. It is also an overall shot of the items that I will take close up images of. It includes the vintage re-vamped trunk, storage cases and the picture frames.

2- The second shot is the one of the trunk opened up, so you can see more of what is on it.

3- This is a close up shot of the images that have been stuck to the desk of the trunk.

4- This is another close up shot from the overall image, it is of the storage cases.

5- This is a new overall shot of the mirror, photo hanging frame and quote canvas that sits on the window ledge.

6- This is a close up shot of the quote canvas, so you are able to see the material of the canvas and a close up of the writing.

7- This is a close up shot of the picture frame, its more of a DIY item so the image is to show what has been done to make it.


Interview

What is it that you love about the vintage style so much?

“I love the shabby chic vintage design because it adds a romantic and cosy feeling to my home. It allows me to reflect my personality and values without being too expensive and impractical with my children”

Where do you purchase your vintage items, do you like buying them or having them handed down?

“I buy second hand pieces from charity shops, car boot sales and friends and family. I usually upcycle them myself. On a few occasions i’ve bought pieces from Ebay or gumtree but I love trawling around charity and antique shops

How do you find affordable vintage items?

“I afford my items by buying ones that generally need some work doing on them so they tend to be going quite cheap. People are catching onto the trend now so pieces that have have already been upcycled tend to be expensive. Charity shops are full of genuine pieces  that have been donated by the older generation and you can get some great bargains”

How do you recognise that something is vintage?

“you can normally tell the difference between real and replica based on the price. The real vintage items also seem to have a certain look to it but to be honest, if i like it, it doesn’t really mater what its origins are”

Do you like vintage inspired items or do they need to be actual vintage?

“I like the look style so I don’t mind if it is real vintage or vintage inspired”

What do you enjoy most about vintage?

“That it looks cosy and pretty without being too girly. I think Its classy. I like that it is a cheap way to bring a nice look to your home, It is also an act of recycling so therefore I feel I’m not adding more to the rubbish the world already produces”


Photoshoots:

Since I wanted to show all the images that I had taken, I decided to make a contact sheet on Photoshop. This way I could show all the images In a good way, even the ones who didn’t make the magazine.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 09.43.20

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 09.39.56Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 09.40.17

To do this I gathered all the photos I had taken and copied them all into one folder. I then moved the folder from my USB to the desktop so that It would be easier to find when working in photoshop. The first thing I did was open a blank document in photoshop and then went to “file” this opened a drop down box, I scrolled to the bottom and clicked on “automate” this then opened another drop down box where I selected “Contact Sheet II”

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 09.47.58

Once I had completed these steps a box came up where I had to select the images I wanted to include. I selected ‘choose’ selecting my ‘contact sheet’ folder which contained all the images I wanted to be on the contact sheet. I then pressed “ok” and left the software to load in all the images.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 09.51.58.png


Draft Writing

Vintage home decor.

Over the years the vintage craze has surely rocketed.

Everywhere I go there seems to be items inspired by vintage trends.

From Garden centres to cool, hip cafes.

More and more people seem to be transforming their homes to keep up with the trends, it is an easy way to make your home more welcoming and relaxed.

Having something vintage in your home can take the serious edge off instantly.

Here over at Vook, we were on a mission to find ways to help you introduce the vintage style to your household.

Sarah Harrison Akers, Vintage/shabby chic fanatic described the style as romantic, cosy and pretty without being too girly.

When looking for vintage items to buy for your home, you may find that they are quite expensive.

Due to the vintage trend becoming more popular furniture that has purposely been up-cycled tends to be more expensive so it is a good idea to look elsewhere.

Sarah said: “Charity shops are full of genuine pieces that have been donated by the older generation and you can get some great bargains.”

When it comes to the things you buy, you may find that it needs a little makeover. This will give you the opportunity to up-cycle the items yourself; to do some DIY and make it your own!

How to fit reading into your summer schedule

As we all know, and I, very well summer can be a very busy time with various social events and late nights.

This means that reading can be hard to fit in and I of all people know how annoying it can be not being able to read that book that you absolutely love.

1.Take a book with you everywhere you go.

You never know when you will get the chance to read. Travelling is always an excellent time to read and you will be surprised at home much you can read, no matter how short the journey.

2. Going with the previous point, never think a short amount of time dedicated to reading is too short, you’ll definitely get a few pages in!

3. Multitask.

Sounds impossible doesn’t it? It’s not! You can always read in the bath. Its actually really relaxing. You can also read whilst your food is cooking in the oven.

4.

Second draft

Vintage article

Over the years the vintage craze has surely rocketed.

Everywhere I go there seems to be items inspired by vintage trends. From garden centres to cool, hip cafes.

More and more people seem to be transforming their homes to keep up with the trends and it is an easy way to make your home more welcoming and relaxed.

Having something vintage in your home can take the serious edge off instantly.

Knowing something is already a little worn will make you less wary about damaging new and modern pieces in your home.

Here at Vook magazine, we’re on a mission to find ways to help you introduce the vintage style to your home.

Sarah Harrison Akers, 34, is a social worker from Sheffield and a vintage/shabby chic fanatic. She lives in a semi-detached house built in the 70s, which she has transformed into a pretty modern home with stylish edge.

She described the style as romantic, cosy and pretty – without being too girly.

Sarah said that it was a cheap way to bring a nice look to your home and was also an act of recycling – so you feel as though you are doing something great whilst making your home look good.

When looking for vintage items to buy for your home, you may find that they are quite expensive. Due to the vintage trend becoming more popular, furniture that has purposely been up-cycled tends to be more expensive so it is a good idea to look elsewhere.

Sarah said: “Charity shops are full of genuine pieces that have been donated by the older generation and you can get some great bargains.”

When it comes to the things you buy, you may find that it needs a little makeover.

This will give you the opportunity to up-cycle the items yourself and to do some DIY and make it your own! Sarah’s latest project was an old vintage trunk, that she up-cycled herself.

The trunk was traditionally passed down through each generation of her family until Sarah inherited it and made it her own. All that it took was a sand down, a paint job, new drawer handles and it was done!

Book article

Reading is becoming more and more talked about on social media and I, for one, am thrilled to see it becoming more popular.

No matter what you read, reading something is better than nothing. Even if you think you won’t like reading, there’s that many books out there that there’s sure to be something that will catch your eye.

Ranging from Contemporary, Fantasy, Dystopian, Sci-Fi (etc.) there will definitely be a book out there for your every mood.

Summer is here, which usually means more reading with all the extra spare time you have due to the holidays. But it can also be the opposite.

As we all know summer can be a very busy time, with various social events, beach visits, barbeques and late nights.

Vook Magazine has come up with the following tips to help you fit in reading during the busy summer months.

1.Take a book with you everywhere you go

You never know when you will get the chance to read. Travelling is always an excellent time to read and you will be surprised at home much you can read, no matter how short the journey. If you have a short break at work, it would be the perfect time to whip out your book and read.

2. Don’t think 5 minutes is too short

Going with the previous point, never think a short amount of time dedicated to reading is too short, you’ll definitely get a few pages in! Even if it’s only a couple of pages, you will still get further than you were before.

3. Multitask

Sounds impossible doesn’t it? It’s not! You can always read in the bath. It’s actually really relaxing. You can also read whilst your food is cooking in the oven. Or again, on a journey. If out for coffee with a friend, read while you wait.

4. Read shorter books

Reading shorter books can be an actual life saver, as you’ll be able to fit in more reading than you expected to and you will feel great for it. Shorter books are also easier to throw into any bag when on the go, so there’s always a chance that you’ll be able to take it out and read if you have time.

5. Read a book to suit your mood

There’s nothing worse than forcing yourself to read a book that you’re not particularly in the mood for, that why reading what you’re in the mood for is important. If you read a book that suits your mood, you are more likely to read it quicker. In summer, most people often read contemporary as it is a lighter read and you don’t need to focus so much on a complex storyline.  

Screenshots

The first thing that I did when it came to creating my magazine was try to make my front cover. Because it was getting closer to the time that we needed making the actual thing, I had to do something even if I didn’t have my final images. So to do this I took my test shot front cover and inserted it into Indesign.

This was the image:

dresser1

This image is just acting as a substitute until I do a re-shoot of my images. The main thing I am using it for is to get an idea on how my front cover will look. I am also using it so I can play around with different fonts to see which one best suits the background image.

When I placed the image onto the page on Indesign, I noticed that the image was larger and grainier than I wanted it to be, so I had to do something about it. To fix this I went into photoshop, Went to the crop tool and changed all the dimensions.

After a while of looking at the front cover image, I decided I didn’t really like it. This because of how it looked and sometimes the quality of the image and the lighting really bothered me, so I had a look through my studio taken images where I used a model and decided which one I would like to use.

Once I had chose the image I had to edit it. The first thing I did was open it in photoshop and then crop it to a5 size. Next I had to work on getting rid of the shadows around her feet so I used the Dodge tool to rub out the shadows.

After that I Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 11.39.28had to remove the lights that were in the image at the right hand side. To do this I used the clone tool. This was pretty straight forward to use as all I had to do was select the part of the image I wanted to clone and then colour over the studio lights.

This is the before and after of the images, I also lightened the background to pure white so there were no colour fade.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 11.43.57

So far this is my front cover. Before I had a boring block masthead, but this time around I went online and found a different font. Because this front cover relates to the book article, I wanted the masthead to look like it somehow linked to the vintage article. To try and achieve this I searched for ‘vintage’ fonts and this was one of the ones that came up, but I think I will be doing more searching and playing around with the fonts more. I also still need to add coverlines and straplines etc.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 09.52.47

When searching fonts I really couldn’t find any that suited the cover or any that I liked, so I ended up using the colleges’ magazine logo.
When I got feedback, I was told that it wouldn’t be smart to have a front cover where the models face is covered, as Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 15.30.18it suggests that the content inside must have something to do with identity and struggles, which nothing in my articles are about that, so it would be smart to change it. I ended up changing it to one where the model is holding the book up, smiling. I did the same thing all over again, opened in photoshop, cropped to a5 and removed the background. I also had to flip the image so that it was facing the opening of the magazine cover. After I had done this, I started adding captions to the cover. This was hard as there was a lot of space to cover, and I only had 2 articles. I ended coming up with “Book heaven” and “love vintage” for the book heaven one, I wanted it to look like it was glowing and for the love vintage I wanted the ‘o’ to be a love heart. At first I just tried to copy and paste a love heart emoji but it wouldn’t let me so I had to go to dafont.com and find a font full of love hearts. I eventually found one I liked and tested out all of the hearts, finding the one I liked most.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.20.38Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.20.55

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.21.02

After almost finishing the front cover, I did a focus group where we all realised that because the image had been flipped, the book cover had been too so I’d have to change it. After looking for a while I found another Image to use. Again, I went through the process of opening it in photoshop, cropping and removing the background. I then placed the image in InDesign and started working on the front cover again. The first thing I did was end the images to the back/ font to the front etc so that I would be able to work with it easier. Once I inserted all the text, the front cover still seemed bland because of the pure white background, so I had to add a gradient effect, even if it was really subtle it still made the front cover look less bland. To do this I drew a box, right clicked and went selected ‘effects’ that opened a drop down box, I scrolled to the bottom and selected ‘gradient feather’ this then came up with a box where I changed the angle to 90° so that the gradient would fade faster.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.27.37Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.38.49
Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 09.28.12

 

After I had sorted out the size of my image and front cover, I started to think more about the fonts I wanted to use. This became more of a problem when I was designing my ‘book advice’ feature. I had an idea in my head of what I wanted, but I just couldn’t figure it out and use the fonts to make it look that way. I wanted a font that was striking and bold for the “how to fit” and “into your” so that the other three words stood out more, but it was clear what feature was about. I then wanted to make “reading” and “summer schedule” look like they were handwritten. The “how to fit ____ into your” looks like a template that was already there and then “reading” and “summer schedule” look like they have been written in to address the audience.  They also give off the feel that they have been written in a journal.

To find tScreen Shot 2016-05-05 at 09.54.51he appropriate font I went through almost all of them that remotely looked like a handwriting font. There were a few that looked like handwriting, but they were just too fancy for the type that I wanted, so I carried on looking, avoiding those fonts In particular. After testing many of them out, I finally found one that was appropriate for what I wanted.  I decided on using the ‘Bradley Hand’ font for the words “reading” and “summer schedule” and I used the ‘Minion Pro’ font for the words “how to fit” and “into your”


Once I had sorted out the text and fonts etc I had to start designing the page more. So that it would be ready for when I insert the text and images. As I am writing my article in a listicle type of way, I had to find a more fun way to include the tips instead of just writing it in a list. For this, I went back to my article Inspiration and decided I really wanted to incorporate more of it into mine, so I decided to use rectangular shaped text boxes, with rounded edges. This way I will still have the top tips listed, but in a less boring way.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 09.27.34

When looking at the text boxes, I found they were too sharp at the edges and I wanted them to fade into the page more, so I ended up going to the options and changing the outline to ‘none’

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 09.58.09Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 09.58.22Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 09.55.24

After adding the text boxes, the article was starting to look more put together. I was now able to visualise where my model would be stood on the page. The next thing I did was Insert text so that I would be able to cover more of the blank space below the title, this would also be the place where the introduction to the article would be.

When I inserted my text I noticed there were no columns, so I had to select the text, right click and select “text frame options” this then came up with a box with various different options, I just increased the number of columns to two and pressed ok.

 

DSC_0040The next thing I had to do was edit the background out of an Image I was going to be using for the book article. The first thing I did was open the picture in Photoshop and then I  cropped it to the size of an a5 page, this would make it easier to place onto the page on Indesign so that the image wouldn’t be blurry. The firs thing I tried to do was use the magic wand tool, but it took away more of the image than I wanted, so I went in with the background eraser and removed it myself.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 13.15.06Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 13.23.09Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 09.44.19

After I did that I placed the Image into Indesign to see if there were any parts of the background that I had missed, because if there was it was more visible on that background. When  I did this, there were bits I had missed but it was easily solved by me looking at the image on a different background, finding the parts I had missed and then going back in and finding the parts to erase on photoshop.

Once I had finished that, it was time to insert the finished image onto my page in Indesign, at first the image was small, and placed just above the font but then there was too much blank space, so I decided to make it full size.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 13.57.19

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 09.01.58

 

 

 

 

 

Once I did this, some of the font went over the model, so I decided to move it down to where there was spare space and it ended up looking a lot better.

Once everything was in place, I started working on it to make it look better. The first thing I did was add a shadow effect to the rectangle shapes, so that it stood out more and didn’t look as boring and flat to the page. After seeing how this looked and gathering feedback, I tried it on the text too, adding a shadow to “reading”

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 13.50.32

As this article was written from my perspective I had to include somewhere that it was written by me so I inserted a text box at the top of the right page and wrote “Written by Abigail Akers”

It is a convention to have the magazine name somewhere on the page, as well as the page numbers in the bottom corners so I added that to each of my pages.

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 14.04.29.png

As I wanted to see what my text would look like when in the text boxes, I inserted some lurem Ipsum text.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 13.27.03 Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 10.10.53

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 11.21.05

 

When I inserted the text, it looked a little cramped, as it was too close the the edges and also was hard to read on some backgrounds as the text was black. To solve this I indented the text Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 10.21.37 and moved the titles down a little bit. I also changed the colour of the text to write to make sure that it could be read on all of the backgrounds.


Vintage article

After I had finished working on my book article, I moved onto working on my vintage home decor article. The first thing I did was set out a template so that I knew where my images and text would go. I did this because at first I only had my test shots, so I didn’t really want to put them in the article yet, the templates were a reminder that I needed to take my final images and insert them as soon as possible.

Screen Shot 2016-05-05 at 09.54.19

The next thing I did was insert text for the title, at first it was quite boring as it was just a standard font and the colour black.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 14.01.15

The font was also different on the different pages, so it looked like there were two different articles depending on the page, so I had to do something to change this.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 14.32.34

I wanted a font that gave a vintage vibe, so I looked through the fonts that were already on the computer but I couldn’t find one that I liked or that gave the right effect, so I went looking elsewhere. After a while I found this font on the dafont website. This gave the effect that I wanted really well. Without an outline, the text looked a little off and like it faded into the page, so I ad to add an outline so that it would stand out more.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 14.47.22

 

After I had found the font that I wanted, I had to find a background for my article so that it didn’t look as boring. When looking at the font, I got the idea that a brick background would look good, but a normal standard brick background would just make the font look like graffiti, so I looked for a white one, as this would add the the vintage effect. When I put this on the page, it didn’t look good on the whole page with the images, but it did look good for the font so I kept it as a background to the font.

The next thing I started doing was inserting the images that I wanted. The first Image I inserted was the largest and took up a lot of space on the second page, because this was the main focus of the article when talking about the interviewee.

 

The original image was quite dark, so I had to open it up in photoshop in order to lighten it. To do this I just used the dodge tool and went over the image, listening the places that needed it the most. I did end up lightening the overall image because it gave off a worn down effect and made it look even more vintage, fitting in with the feature. Once I inserted the image into indesign, it looked a bit boring and dull just on its own, so I decided to stick to the brick background effect and add it as a border. When looking at the image with and without the border, I didn’t know which one looked better so I got some feedback and the group said it looked better with and suggested adding an outline as well, so that is what I did.

After I had edited the first and main image, I edited all of the others in the same way and inserted them onto the page, moving them around to find the right positioning and which looked best.

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.10.50 Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 10.14.22

After I had all of the images and text in place, I found that I had a bit of white space so I had to find a way to cover that up, luckily I already had ides on what to do, so I tested the ideas out. The first thing I needed to do was add a pull quote from the article.

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.10.19

The next thing I did was add a “get the look” section at the bottom right page, next to the main image. This just included a list of what was in the image and where to find them, whether they’re in a shop or home made. All I had to do for this was gather the information that I got from the interviewee when I photographed the objects. After I did this, the only blank space was on the top of the right page. To g=cover this I inserted a rounded text box, colour swatched an image and filled it with the colour of one of the images then inserted a quote to do with vintage. When I did this I ended up making it bigger to fill the text box more and then I changed the font to typewriter so that it fit with the theme of the feature more, as typewriter font makes you think of older times and thats what vintage is, it was also a pretty font and quite fun and feminine, which is good for my target audience.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.09.58

 

 

Final product PDF- FMP

 

 

 

 

 

 

