I have always loved reading, ever since I was younger.  I once saw a quote that described exactly how I see reading.

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” ― George R.R. Martin, A Dance with Dragons.

This is a perfect explanation as to why I love reading so much, because it is so much more than picking up a book and reading the words. Its about the way you feel when you read a book, and how it affects you during and afterwards. I can’t tell you the last time I read a book that didn’t make me feel the same way whilst I was reading it, after I finished it too.

Reading is great for your imagination. When you are reading, you’re connecting to what the writer had previously imagined, allowing you to do so too, but you are able to imagine these things in any way you want because, well, everyone interprets things differently. Unlike films, you don’t have to see things the way everybody else does and I think that is great.

Reading really does take you to another world. You don’t have to be faced by reality for a while when you are reading. I love the moment when you look up from your book, in a daze and just really absorb the words you just read which makes you feel a little more fulfilled.

